Unspoken

My face speaks volumes.

It doesn’t matter what words are uttered. I may say something and my expressions might convey something else.

As much as I try, I cannot control my expressions and they are a mirror to my thoughts.

expressionquotes

Initially and until recently, I looked at it as a flaw, I worked on keeping a straight face when I said something, but I’d often fail. People would catch a twitch or an expression as it passed and narrow their eyes or disbelieve my words (for good reason).

I’ve accepted it now and sometimes, I watch my own expressions (sort of in my mind) to pinpoint the thought or emotion and to understand the extent to which the subject affects me.

My thoughts and emotions might sometimes be all tangled and confusing, but expressions always focus on what bothers me the most, without a doubt.

Eventually, I stopped saying things that don’t match with my expressions. If I do not like something, I am not going to say I do. Because my nose would clearly be twitching and crinkled.

Some of us might not pay close attention to eyes and expressions on the face, but I know how see-through mine are and I pay closer attention to people’s faces and gestures than to their words sometimes. I can sense what they really mean or want from their movements and expressions, even if their words convey something else.

quote-Virginia-Satir-every-word-facial-expression-gesture-or-action-32363

When I do go with those senses, they are usually relieved – they didn’t have to speak it out and say those things. They are glad I went with what they left unsaid.

The world would be a much simpler place to live in, if we say what we really mean or feel. No games, no guesswork.

Toot your horn.

Featured image: Dreja Novak

5 comments

  1. We can sense dishonesty all times, we say it’s a gut feeling. But, in reality, we’re matching body language with what’s being said. Most times we do it in an unconscious way.
    It’s much easier when we’re meaningful in what we say, honesty is one of my core values. And I believe that by being honest, I’m letting others open themselves to me as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. timelesswheel · ·

      Yes, it’s so important to be true to ourselves… thanks for sharing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done you! What a wonderful lesson to share with others 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. timelesswheel · ·

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

  3. Yes, the world will be a better place to live in if we say what we really mean. Thanks for sharing, timelesswheel.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think

The Blogger's Paradise

Eclipse your sorrows by loving life, just the way it is.

Philip Craddock Writing Portfolio

Daring to Dream: Short stories, poetry & songs. Next target: 300 Followers.

throughdanielleseyes

Words, thoughts, and snapshots of life.

dellartista

The Happy Cottage: A place where anyone can come and share their writing, art or just to share thoughts or feelings.

Quarter Life Crisis

small paychecks;big lessons

