Let it go

Three words.

When I told my mentor how I’m struggling (I was basically helplessly and continuously ranting in a ‘oh my life, oh my life’ way), he said, “Let it go”. He asked me if I had seen frozen. He’s 71 years old! (See! Animation isn’t just for kids. I’ve said this so many times.)

That sort of made me smile. Yes, I told him I had seen frozen and that I loved it.

I realised that I need to forgive myself, I was blaming myself, for not being ‘good enough’. And I know better. So why am I not listening to myself?

I need to let go… of attachment, what-ifs, frustration at self, sadness, hope – yes this too… because sometimes, hoping is just a fantasy and gets us stuck on the same page…

141370875774400004_kmLlpRZx_c1_thumb3-Copy.jpg

Source unknown

Sometimes, we can’t deal with things, they get too much. We want to work it out, understand it, do something about it, anything! But there are times, when we just need to let it go. To let it be. Nothing good will come out of holding it close to our chest and carrying it with us everyday, everywhere.

When he asked me to let it go, my mind (it works at a ridiculous speed) immediately asked “How? How do I let it go? I want to, but I can’t. I’m not able to.” He told me to remove the words “I can’t” and replace them with “I will do my best.”

I played the song a few times and sang along with it. I felt a little better. Although the song was created for the character and the story line, it can apply to all of us. It is inspiring – a sweet musical reminder.

“The wind is howling like this swirling storm inside”

“It’s funny how some distance makes everything seem small”

“The fears that once controlled me can’t get to me at all”

“It’s time to see what I can do, to test the limits and break through”

“I’m free…Let it go, I’m one with the wind and sky”

“I’m never going back, the past is in the past…”

“I’ll rise like the break of dawn”

What’s more, after an entire morning and afternoon of this storm raging inside me, I came across posts (Beyond the DarknessRedefining Lent and When you let go you’re free to find out what’s meant to be) on my reader, about letting go – talk about timing and the universe bringing these to me just when I needed some inspiration and motivation.

I’m going to let it go.

Or at least, I’m going to try…

I can hear my mentor saying “There’s no such thing as trying, there’s only doing.”

Okay. I’m going to let it go. And that’s that.

45 comments

  1. I’m not yet 71, but nudging my way there. And I go to see most animated movies ‘cos I love them. These days I don’t even bother to find a kid to borrow. I go on my own if no one wants to come, buy myself an ice cream and lose myself in the movie. There’s more in them for us olds I reckon.
    Nice post too BTW

    Liked by 1 person

    1. timelesswheel · ·

      Thank you! Going for a movie alone is awesome! I used to think it would be awkward but it’s not 🙂 Love animation too! But not anime 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great post! I know exactly what you mean. I’m trying to let a lot of things go and it’s difficult but doable. One day at a time. I want peace. I neeeeeeed peace. Jx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. timelesswheel · ·

      Thank you! 🙂 Yes, one day at a time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. When one finally DOES let it go, it’s freedom! Hard to do, but freedom. Lovely, honest post, cheers Nicole

    Liked by 2 people

    1. timelesswheel · ·

      I agree, thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

1 5 6 7

Let me know what you think

The Blogger's Paradise

Eclipse your sorrows by loving life, just the way it is.

Philip Craddock Writing Portfolio

Daring to Dream: Short stories, poetry & songs. Next target: 300 Followers.

throughdanielleseyes

Words, thoughts, and snapshots of life.

dellartista

The Happy Cottage: A place where anyone can come and share their writing, art or just to share thoughts or feelings.

Quarter Life Crisis

small paychecks;big lessons

